Delete or hide a YouTube channel

50

You can temporarily hide content on your channel or delete it permanently.

Note that hiding content on a YouTube channel or deleting it will permanently delete all Community posts , comments, and replies.

Temporarily hide the channel

You can temporarily hide content on your YouTube channel and restore it later. If you hide your content, your channel name, videos, positives, subscriptions, and subscribers become private.

We will permanently delete all your comments and replies. Your account data on other Google services will not be deleted.

How to hide a feed or content on it:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio .
  2. In the menu on the left, select Settings
  3. Select Channel  Advanced 
    Settings .
  4. At the bottom of the page, select Delete YouTube Content . Note: This will open a page where you can delete or hide your feed. You may be asked for your login information.
  5. Select I want to hide my content .
  6. Check the appropriate boxes to confirm what is to be hidden.
  7. Select Hide My Channel .

If you want others to see your content, or you want to upload a video, add a comment, or use a playlist, you can turn the channel back on .

Permanently delete a channel

Closing a YouTube channel will remove all content including videos, comments, messages, playlists, and history. Please note that you cannot delete the channel on mobile devices at this time.

To delete a YouTube channel:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio .
  2. In the menu on the left, select Settings  .
  3. Select Channel Advanced Settings .
  4. At the bottom of the page, select Delete from YouTube. If prompted, enter your login information.
  5. Select I want to permanently delete my content .
  6. Check the boxes to confirm that you want to delete your channel.
  7. Select  Delete My Content .

This change may take a while, so YouTube may still show thumbnails of your videos for a while.

Note: By following these steps, you will only delete the YouTube channel, not the entire Google Account you use to sign in. Learn how to delete your entire Google Account .

When you delete a channel, its URL and name will no longer be visible or searchable in YouTube Analytics. Channel-related data, such as watch time, will still be part of your aggregate reports, but will no longer be assigned to the deleted channel.