How to safely use LinkedIn

116

Contrary to most social networking sites, LinkedIn is oriented towards business relations and primarily uses the so called networking. This approach made the website stand out from the rest and gained immense popularity. However, as we mentioned before, this platform is no different from other social networking sites in terms of security. The rule is simple – the bigger and more popular the website, the more trouble it is.

Privacy

Considering that this website focuses on building professional relationships and contacts, it can be assumed that we will not find ridiculous photos in it. However, if you belong (which I sincerely doubt) one of those people who publish such photos there, you have to think about it, because it is not what it is for. As with other social networking sites, the user’s profile contains a lot of information about the owner of the account, so it is important to monitor your privacy settings on an ongoing basis and make sure that your account is properly secured.

Luckily, LinkedIn’s privacy settings are in one place. After logging in to your account, hover over your thumbnail in the upper right corner, and then click the „Manage” link in the „Privacy Settings” section.

Here, the most important option for us is the link „Choose people who can see your activity feed”. In this case, we recommend selecting „Your Contacts”, which is the default setting anyway. In practice, this means that activity on your profile will only be visible to confirmed friendships. The option where you can edit your public profile („Edit your public profile”) works similarly – it allows you to specify which people not included in your friends circle can see your profile.

You can also set restrictions on who will be allowed to see your contacts. Publicly visible relationships can make it easier for someone to gather information about you, so having your contacts visible to yourself only helps you increase your privacy.

According to LinkedIn’s default settings, people are informed when someone has visited their profile. If you don’t want someone to know about your visit on their profile, change them.

Passwords

It is quite possible that it will sound as if we are playing a broken record – but we will write about it again: strong slogans are simply necessary. Remember to change them regularly and never duplicate them to protect multiple accounts. In addition, it is important that the password is strong and difficult to guess.

Security

Taking into account the specifics of the discussed website, it may be tempting to have the vision of accepting as many contacts as possible in order to make it easier to change jobs. While it seems logical at first glance, you should not accept invitations from people who are absolutely strangers to you. Believe it or not, there are even hackers out there . They create fake accounts to gain the trust of company representatives and potentially take advantage of either them or the companies they work for. So, if you receive a contact invitation from someone you’ve never heard of before, click „Ignore Invitation”.

If the invitation comes from someone you don’t know, but think they can help you in some way, take a look at their profile: the fake ones most often impersonate people in top positions in some company. The attached photo relatively often shows a very young person whose appearance, position or experience should raise doubts.

In addition, a person who has achieved so much success certainly knows a lot of people, so if their number on the profile is not too large, you should think about it. Ultimately, trust your intuition – don’t accept the invitation if you don’t want to.

If you know that a profile is fraudulent (especially if it impersonates you!), Report it immediately. To do this, open the person’s profile, hover your mouse over the arrow next to the „Send message” text, and then select „Block or report” from the drop-down menu.

Select „Report” and specify the reason for which you want to submit the profile for review. You can also describe your doubts in detail. LinkedIn administrators will take a look at this profile and if they find the account fraudulent, they will delete it.

It is worth mentioning that this portal also frequently includes various phishing messages and scams . Fraudsters often promise you great work, but at some point require some financial information. Remember never to share your financial details with anyone. And if you receive a message that you think belongs to spam, inform the site administrators and attach the message.

Follow the tips above and you can be sure that your LinkedIn profile remains safe.